donna hyland ceo with patient

Executive team leaders are responsible for all activities of the organization, ensuring that Children’s is staying true to its mission, vision and values while developing and executing a strategy for doing so.

Donna Hyland
Chief Executive Officer
Ruth Fowler
Chief Financial Officer
Linda Matzigkeit
Chief Administrative Officer
Ron Frieson
Chief Operating Officer
Lucky Jain
Pediatrician in Chief
James Fortenberry
Chief Medical Officer
Janine Musholt
President of Foundation
Jeremy Meller
Chief Information Officer

These physician leaders provide expert medical knowledge and oversight in decisions regarding Children’s.

Chevon Brooks MD
Campus Medical Director, Hughes Spalding Hospital
Paul Chai, MD
Chief, Cardiothoracic Surgery
Margaux Charbonnet
Campus Medical Director, Scottish Rite Hospital
Josh Chern
Chief, Neurosurgery
Matthew Clifton
Division Chief, Pediatric Surgery
John Constantino
Chief, Behavioral and Mental Health
James Fortenberry
Chief Medical Officer
Gary Frank, MD
Medical Director, Quality, Accreditation and Regulatory Services
Steven Goudy
Division Chief, Otolaryngology
Douglas Graham
Chief, Aflac Cancer and Blood Disorders Center
Larry Greenbaum
Division Chief, Nephrology
Srikant B. Iyer
Division Chief, Emergency Services
Lucky Jain, MD, MBA
Pediatrician-in-Chief and Department of Pediatrics Chair
Stephanie M. Jernigan, MD
Campus Director, Egleston Hospital
Khaliah Johnson
Division Chief, Palliative Care
Clinton Joiner
Chief Research Officer
Andrew Kirsch
Division Chief, Urology
Ami Klin
Director, Marcus Autism Center
Division Chief, Autism
William T. Mahle
Chief, Cardiology
Andrew Muir
Division Chief, Endocrinology
Brenda Poindexter
Division Chief, Neonatology
Sampath Prahalad
Division Chief, Rheumatology
Rene Romero, MD
System Medical Director, Transplant
Usha N. Sathian, MD
Service Chief, Urgent and Community Care
Cary Sauer
Interim Division Chief, Gastroenterology, Hepatology and Nutrition
Michael L. Schmitz
Chief, Orthopaedics and Sports Medicine Center
Tim Schrader
Campus Surgical Director, Scottish Rite Hospital
Andi Shane
Division Chief, Infectious Diseases
J C Shirley
Division Chief, Dentistry and Orthodontics
Dawn Simon, MD
Interim Division Chief, Pulmonology, CF and Sleep
Stephen F. Simoneaux, MD
Division Chief, Radiology
Nancy Sokkary
Division Chief, Gynecology
Vijay Srinivasan
Division Chief, Critical Care Medicine
Brian Vickery
Division Chief, Allergy and Immunology
Joshua Vova
Division Chief, Physiatry
Elizabeth Weinzierl
Interim Division Chief, Pathology and Laboratory Medicine
Joseph Williams
Division Chief, Plastic and Craniofacial Surgery
David Wolf
Division Chief, Neurology
David Wrubel
Campus Surgical Director, Egleston Hospital

This team is the leadership body for Children’s Physician Group practices. The team sets clinical and operational priorities, manages overall financial performance, sets quality targets, and identifies staffing needs for the physician practices.

Team members: 

  • James Fortenberry, MD, FCCM, FAAP
    Chief Medical Officer
  • Lucky Jain, MD, MBA
    Chief Academic Officer
  • Usha Sathian, MD
    Service Chief, Urgent and Community Care
  • Heather Balberde
    Vice President, Physician Practice Operations
  • Darilyn Brown
    Senior Director, Physician Practice Operations
  • Brandon Yoder
    Vice President, Finance Operations
  • Michelle Reid
    Senior Director, Human Resources 

The Medical Executive Committee is the primary authority over professional staff and performance improvement activities regarding professional services provided by those with clinical privileges. The committee acts on reports and recommendations from departments, sections and committees and is accountable to the Board for the medical care of patients admitted to or receiving treatment at our hospitals.

Current presidents:


The Board of Trustees is the governing body of Children’s. It is composed of local volunteer leaders who share a commitment to serving the community by enhancing the lives of children.

Stephanie V. Blank
Stephanie V. Blank
Community Volunteer
W. Paul Bowers
W. Paul Bowers
Chairman, Retired President and CEO, Georgia Power
Paul Brown
Paul Brown
Chief Executive Officer, Inspire Brands
Mark Chancy
Mark Chancy
Community Volunteer
Mike Cote
Mike Cote
Retired President and CEO, SecureWorks
Allison Dukes
Allison Dukes
Chief Financial Officer, Invesco
Sarah Fanning
Sarah Fanning
Community Volunteer 

Mark Gilreath
CEO, United Digestive

Ernest L. Greer
Co-President Greenburg Traurig LLP

Babette Henagan
Founder and Managing Partner, Linx Partners, LLC

Thomas M. Holder
Chairman and CEO Holder Construction Company

Donna W. Hyland
President and CEO Children's Healthcare of Atlanta

Jocelyn Hunter
Vice President and Deputy General Counsel at The Home Depot

Andrés Irlando
President, Zayo Group 
Stephanie Jernigan
Stephanie Jernigan, MD
Campus Medical Director, Egleston, Children’s Healthcare of Atlanta

Mark Kauffman
Community Volunteer

Jenna Kelly
President, Northern Georgia Region at Truist

Wonya Lucas
President and CEO - Crown Media Family Networks

Hala Moddelmog
President and Chief Executive Officer, The Woodruff Arts Center

Beatriz Perez
SVP & Chief Communications, Sustainability & Strategic Partnerships Officer, The Coca-Cola Company
Jon Popler
Jon Popler, MD
Medical Staff Co-President, Children’s Healthcare of Atlanta
Asif Ramji
Asif Ramji
CEO, Venture Worx

Jeff Seaman
President & CEO, Rooms To Go
Edwin Smith, MD
Urologist at Children’s Healthcare of Atlanta & Professor at Emory University School of Medicine

Tristan Walker
Founder and Chief Executive Officer, Walker & Company Brands
David Wrubel
David Wrubel, MD
Medical Staff Co-President, Children’s Healthcare of Atlanta